VIII Iberoamerican

Congress on Geometry

June 22nd - 26th, 2020

Morelia, México

On behalf of the Scientific Committee of the Iberoamerican Congress on Geometry 2020 (ICG) I have to announce that unfortunately the congress will be postponed until things are clearer with respect to the pandemic situation about COVID-19.

It's not clear in the following weeks under which conditions the air transport will resume, travel restrictions will be lifted, or when the contagious curve could be flattened, etc.

We hope that you continue interested in to participate in the ICG. Scientific Committee will evaluate a new date and we hope that the new date for the conference it works to you. We believe that you will understand this special global situation.

We will keep in touch with those speakers or participants that have paid the Registration Fee.


Since the time of Bernhard Riemann, the influence of analytical and algebraic methods based on Riemann surfaces, algebraic curves and abelian varieties, has been crucial in the development of other areas in physics and mathematics, as well as applications to other areas. These topics have been a very effective tool in solving problems in commutative algebra, mathematical-physics, algebraic geometry, differential geometry, complex and hyperbolic geometry, dynamical systems, singularity theory, topology and other interdisciplinary branches of mathematics that are constantly evolving.

The Iberoamerican Geometry Congresses (IGC) have the particularity of gathering researchers and students from various mathematical communities of America and other regions of the world, with the aim of fostering an exchange of ideas between mathematicians in different fields, linked by the geometry of Riemann surfaces, abelian varieties and related fields.

The VIII edition will take place at Morelia, México, on june 22-26, 2020. The program consists of nine plenary talks and four special sessions on algebraic geometry, dynamical systems, foliations and singularities and Riemann surfaces.

Plenary Speakers

Lucia Caporaso

Università Roma Tre

Alicia Dickenstein

Universidad de Buenos Aires

Javier Fernández De Bobadilla

Basque Centre for Applied Mathematics

Gabino González-Diez

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

Adolfo Guillot

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Andrés Navas

Universidad de Santiago de Chile

José Seade Kuri

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Ravi Vakil

Stanford University

Alex Wright

University of Michigan

Scientific Committee

Angel Carocca

Universidad de La Frontera

Abel Castorena

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Laura DeMarco

Northwestern University

Alexis García-Zamora

Universidad Autónoma de Zacatecas

Samuel Grushevsky

Stony Brook University

Francisco J. Plaza Martín

Universidad de Salamanca

Rubí Rodríguez

Universidad de La Frontera

Organizing Committee

Abel Castorena

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Mustapha Lahyane

Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolás de Hidalgo

Alexis García-Zamora

Universidad Autónoma de Zacatecas

Bosco Frías

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México